Growth in the Garden & Spring Beauty

Tomatoes and potatoes

Being Saturday, yard and garden day, I thought I would share some more photos of my garden as well as some of the other Spring (and now summer!) flowers in bloom around the house. It has been a great growing season so far here in West Michigan! We have had at least one one-inch rain per week and plenty of warm weather, so that the yard, garden, and flowers are all lush and prolific (the yard is almost too prolific – I am tired of mowing!). My potato plants, beans, and peppers have blooms; the tomatoes have small fruit on them; newly-planted cucumbers, yellow squash, and sunflowers (mammoth ones for the grandkids – something fun for them each year!) are sprouted.

I simply love seeing the progress of the plants in the garden, and the beauty of the flowers. Everyday when I get home from work I take my stroll around the house and through the garden. Plants leave a witness to the sovereignty and wisdom of God that leaves me astounded each year. The detailed intricacy of one flower has my Father-Creator’s name all over it! I am in awe when I gaze inside a day lily or a sweet william.

Asian Lily

Coreopsis

Sweet William

And, of course, the plant world is a powerful picture and parable of the Christian life. I spoke of that on a previous post about gardening. What I’d like to point out today is that the only way we can keep growing as plants in God’s garden is under the rain and sunshine of His Word. This is the means God has designed for us to mature and bear fruit for His glory. So as we face each day, that means we have to be under the Word, soaking in the rain and sun of God’s wisdom in Christ Jesus ( 2 Tim.3:16,17). And as we end this week and look forward to the Lord’s Day tomorrow, we must come ready to be under the preaching of God’s word, absorbing it with all our spiritual pores, so that in the next week we are growing in God’s garden, displaying beautiful blossoms and producing precious fruit for His glory. May the Master Gardener grant us such desire and growth. CJT

Isaiah 55:10 For as the rain cometh down, and the snow from heaven, and returneth not thither, but watereth the earth, and maketh it bring forth and bud, that it may give seed to the sower, and bread to the eater: 11 So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it. 12 For ye shall go out with joy, and be led forth with peace: the mountains and the hills shall break forth before you into singing, and all the trees of the field shall clap their hands. 13 Instead of the thorn shall come up the fir tree, and instead of the brier shall come up the myrtle tree: and it shall be to the LORD for a name, for an everlasting sign that shall not be cut off.

Happy gardening! I’ve got to get hoeing before the next batch of rain comes!

Beans and zucchini

Geranium pot

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://cjts3rs.wordpress.com/2010/06/26/growth-in-the-garden-spring-beauty/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

