Best of Publib Library Humor

Best of Publib Library Humor « Best of Publib – Public Library Discussion and Publib Listserve Analysis.

Time for a bit of library humor again, and a search led me to this public library “listserv” blog which included this collection of “gems” from librarians all over the U.S.  (from 2010). I will post a few of my favorites and then let you stroll through the list to read others. All part of our “Friday Fun” this week – enjoy!

From the Circulation Desk:

♦  … my favorite, although it was a telephone call, was the lady who called me about the overdue notice she had gotten on the book & CD set she had checked out. We were wrong, it couldn’t be overdue, because she had only had it for four weeks and the title said, “Learn Spanish in Three Months.”

♦  Northern Nevada usually has very little snow that sticks around, but this year has had significant snow: a patron called to say that she couldn’t get to the library to turn in her books, so they went to California instead. Huh?

From the Reference Librarians section:

♦  I like, ” can you get me the book I checked in last week? It had a green cover”.

♦  How about “Do you have the book with all the answers?” I was about to suggest the Bible when I remembered I was interning in an academic library and they were looking for the answer book that their professor had left for them there.

♦  I work in a small, almost rural, library. One day a woman called up and asked the director, “How did Mr. [Smith’s] prostate surgery go?”

The director was a little confused as we didn’t have anyone on staff with that name and said, “I’m sorry, but there isn’t any Mr. Smith here.”

The woman said, “Oh, no! He isn’t *there*; he lives down on Main St. I’m just calling you to find out how his prostate surgery went.”

The director thought that maybe the woman had her confused with one of the other staff members who perhaps COULD give her that piece of information and she said, “I don’t have that information. Are you sure you meant to speak to *me* about this?”

And the woman answered brightly, “Of course I did! You’re the library. You know everything!”

♦  My most interesting ones actually happened in a bookstore that I worked in during the early 90s: A customer asked me “Where are the red books?” After she clarified that she wanted to know where the books with red covers were, and that she didn’t have a particular one in mind, I told her that we don’t shelve by color. She said: “Why not?”

Published in: on September 14, 2012 at 6:08 AM  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://cjts3rs.wordpress.com/2012/09/14/best-of-publib-library-humor/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 484 other followers

