Challies’ Top Books of 2014 | Challies Dot Com

My Top Books of 2014 | Challies Dot Com.

Today pastor and popular Christian blogger Tim Challies also posted his favorite book list for this past year. Here too you will find a good selection of the best Christian books published in 2014.

And it is not too late to add a title or two to your list of Christmas gift items – to give or to receive! I hope you benefit from his list as well.

This is his introduction to it, along with one of his best books – on which I would also put my stamp of “best”. Be edified as you browse!

2014 was a great year for Christian readers, and today I want to share some of my top picks from the year that is swiftly drawing to a close. Let me offer a few caveats: First, these are almost certainly not the best books of 2014 in any objective sense; rather, they are my favorites, the ones that have remained in my mind and impacted my life since I read them. Second, they are in no particular order. And finally, at the request of several readers I am posting this list before the end of the year because some people would like to refer to it as they do their Christmas shopping. Enjoy!

And one of his favorites (and mine):

Taking God at His Word - DeYoung-2014Taking God at His Word: Why the Bible Is Knowable, Necessary, and Enough, and What That Means for You and Me by Kevin DeYoung. Kevin DeYoung is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors, largely because of his ability to take difficult theological concepts and to make them reader-friendly. In Taking God at His Word he provides a basic introduction the Bible’s sufficiency, clarity, authority, and necessity—four key qualities of Scripture that are under attack today. It is a great introduction to the doctrine of the Bible for those who have never read one, and a great reminder to those for whom this is already familiar territory. (Buy it at Amazon or Westminster Books |Read my review)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cjts3rs.wordpress.com/2014/12/16/my-top-books-of-2014-challies-dot-com/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

