Important Questions Relating to Our Daily Work – Edward Welch

The Rhythm of Life by Edward Welch | Reformed Theology Articles at Ligonier.org.

It’s Monday morning. The start of another work-week. Six (or at least five) days of busy labor. Are you ready for it? Are you eager to start your work, whatever it is? Do you find satisfaction in your earthly labors? Do you experience God’s blessing in your day-to-day efforts?

Or are you dreading the work-week because you hate your job? Has the work-place become a place of seeming futility and wasted effort? Is there constant drudgery and misery in heading off to labor? Do you find your co-workers hard to get along with and yourself often irritable and a poor Christian witness at work?

Let’s face it, reality is, this latter set of questions is often more our experience than the first set of questions. And that needs addressing, spiritually and biblically.

TT - Feb 2015Whatever your experience at present is, the article by Christian counselor Dr. Ed Welch linked above is a must read for you. Today! In this last of the feature articles in this month’s Tabletalk, Welch speaks to the tough issues that face us because of sin (including our own!) in the workplace.

Raising five (5) pointed questions himself – dealing with prayer, complaining, spiritual growth, depression, and relationships, – Welch guides us Christian workers into a proper, biblical mindset when it comes to our attitude toward and effort in our daily work.

Even though I love my work and am thankful to God for it everyday, there are aspects to it that I sometimes do not enjoy, and times when I too experience drudgery and futility. I found Welch’s questions and answers highly valuable in setting my own heart and mind straight. I hope it will yours too.

Here’s his first section dealing with prayer (“Do I talk about this to the Lord?”) – a great place to start this Monday morning. To read the rest, visit this link.

Do I Talk About This To The Lord?

This is a simple yet loaded question. It is so simple that we could be tempted to check it off: “Yes, I prayed about this.” It’s best to slow down, however.

How have I prayed? What have I prayed?

Our natural tendency should haunt us. “They do not cry to me from the heart, but they wail upon their beds” (Hos. 7:14). Prayer is not natural to us, even in the midst of misery. Crying and complaining are natural; prayer is not. And if we pray, we can be brief and perfunctory: “Please give me a job.” “Please give me a better job.” Almost any request is better than silence, but we aim to speak openly from our hearts to the Lord.

The King has called us friends, and friends share their hearts with each other. We could start like this: “Lord, sometimes I hate to go to work. Sometimes I feel like it makes me crazy.” Or, “Father, you know I want to have a job, but every lead seems to fall flat.” As we follow the pattern of prayer in the Psalms, this openness then considers the ways God has been faithful, and we end with declarations of faith and thanks.

Prayerlessness intensifies our isolation and adds to our burdens; prayer shares and lightens our burdens.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cjts3rs.wordpress.com/2015/02/23/important-questions-relating-to-our-daily-work-edward-welch/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

