My Favorite Books of 2015

Apologizing for the delay, yet posting it belatedly without hesitation, I present to you my favorite books for the year past, 2015.

Some of these are new books and some are older works, because that is the way I like to read. Keep in mind these are my personal favorites, not those for the Seminary library (perhaps I can compile that list at a later time for you).

Most will come as no surprise to you, since they have been featured here throughout the past year (and may continue to be in 2016). Some will perhaps come as a surprise because they were not previously noted here, and because I do indulge in a few novels each year (at least I try!), and actually did enjoy two.

My list is also an attempt to place them in order of significance to me personally, from bottom to top (#1 being the most significant).I also provide you with the link to further information on the book.

Perhaps from this list you will also find something worth reading or trying to read in 2016. In any case, read more and read better! 🙂

10. The Psalter by Galen Watson (Kindle ebook, 2012) – a really good Medieval ecclesiastical thriller – at least for me! History, archives, rare books – what was not to like?!

9. The Heart of the Order by Thomas Boswell (Doubleday, 1989) – my annual Spring/Summer baseball read – and a really good one at that!

8. Lion in the White House: A Life of Theodore Roosevelt by Aida D. Donald (MJF Books, 2007). My summer vacation read – not the best book on “Teddy,” but still a good read.

7. Coined by God: Word and Phrases That First Appear in the English Translations of the Bible by Stanley Malless and Jeffrey McQuain (W.W. Norton, 2003). One of many word books that I love!

6. A.D. 30: A Novel by Ted Dekker (Center Street, 2014). A thrift store find that caught my attention (as I have read other of Dekker’s works and enjoyed them) and turned out to be a fascinating (and easy) read. Try it, you may like it too. It has enough of everything to be enjoyed by a wide range of readers.

5. Just Dad: Stories of Herman Hoeksema by Lois E. Kregel (RFPA, 2014). An intimate, personal account of growing up as the daughter of noted CRC and PRC pastor and professor, “H.H.”. This was a fine – and fun – read; an important side to the man worth knowing.

4. The Unredeemed Captive: A Family Story from Early America by John Demos (Vintage Books, 1995). This is another great thrift store find that I found toward the end of the year (I love early American/Puritan history). It is a detailed story of the capture of prominent New England pastor John Williams, his wife, and his five children during the French-Indian War. It was a story I did not know – quite incredible – and moving!

3. Prayers of the Reformers compiled by Clyde Manschreck (Muhlenberg Press, 1958). If you have been following my Sunday posts in the last year, you know about the power and impact of these prayers. A wonderful little volume to own and read!

2. What’s Best Next: How the Gospel Transforms the Way You Get Things Done by Matt Perman (Zondervan, 2014). Again, if you have followed me through this book, you know why it is at the top of my list.

1. The Reformation Heritage KJV Study Bible, Joel R. Beeke, General Editor (Reformation Heritage Books, 2014). Nothing beats the best book in the world – and a good study edition such as this one makes its use even better for spiritual growth. If you need to know more, read Prof.R. Cammenga’s review, posted here.

RHSBible-KJV-2014

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cjts3rs.wordpress.com/2016/01/16/my-favorite-books-of-2015/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Would your #2 book be good for a women’s book club?

    Like

    • Thanks for the question, Dawn. I think you could make it work, but I don’t think I would recommend it for such a group as this. There are too many other better choices. Tim Challies does have a more condensed version of the same kind of book, but I have not read it. You may look here for it: http://www.challies.com/do-more-better

      Like


Leave a Reply

