Reading With Delight – Two Examples: Dekker and Wangerin

Yesterday I posted a quote from Leland Ryken’s book (A Christian Guide to the Classics) concerning the importance of reading with purpose, the two most significant purposes being for edification (instruction) and for delight – that latter being the first focus.

Today I follow up that post with two concrete examples from my recent reading of books that gave me (and are giving me) great delight, hoping to inspire you to read for delight too.

Chosen-TDekker-2007The first is from the pen of Ted Dekker (author of Black, Red, White, Saint, Sinner, A.D. 30, etc.), a great story-teller whose writing I have come to enjoy simply for the great read (but they are also edifying!). The book of his I just finished is Chosen (“Lost Books”, #1), which is actually in the juvenile fiction category (fantasy and speculative), the main characters being teenagers.

I read this title to see if it was good material for my older grandchildren, and I can assure you it is. And for adults. I thoroughly enjoyed this classic “good versus evil” story. In fact, I would classify it as an extended biblical allegory.  I also have the second book in this series (Infidel) and plan to start it soon. Highly recommended!

Without giving away the story, I quote from the publisher’s description:

think with your heart and prepare to die . . .  for you have been Chosen.

Thomas Hunter, supreme commander of the Forest Guard, has seen a great evil decimate much of his beautiful world. With a dwindling army and an epic threat, Thomas is forced to supplement his fighters with new recruits ages 16 and 17. From thousands, four will be chosen to lead a special mission.

Unknown to Thomas, the chosen four are redirected to a different endgame. They must find the seven lost Books of History before the Dark One. For these seven books have immense power over the past, present, and future, controlling not only the destiny of their world . . . but that of ours as well.

The second example is from one I have referenced before – Walter Wangerin’s Little Lamb, Who Made Thee? A Book about Children and Parents (Zondervan, 1993; reprinted in 2004). The first chapter is a writing gem, the reading of which is sure to conjure up memories of your own mother’s Spring cleaning ritual. I have read “Spring cleaning” three times already, each time with a deep smile on my face and joy in my soul.

Here’s a glimpse of why (And here, too, the spiritual imagery is intentional on the part of this Christian author):

One particular gift of hers [his mother] to us was cleanliness. The experience of cleanliness, of becoming clean. We took it for granted; but it was a way of life, maternal virtue and holy consolation.

My mother kept cleaning, kept reclaiming territory by the act of cleaning it, kept redeeming her children therein.

And spring was always that fresh start of faith and the hope in cleanliness, of the forgiveness of cleanliness, actually, since everything old and fusty could be eliminated, allowing the new to take its place – or better yet, the old itself could be the new again.

…How dearly I loved spring cleaning.

Mom was happy, cleaning. She sang the winter away. She cracked old closures. Everything grievous and wrong and knotty and gritty and guilty was gone. Life returned, and sunlight and laughter and air [p.28].

Need more? There are so many jewels here:

In buckets Mom made elixirs of Spic and Span. She shook Old Dutch Cleanser on sinks as if it were a stick to scold. Throughout the house went ammonia smells, pine smells, soap smells, sudsy smells that cancelled sweats and miasmas.

…By evening we ourselves were bathed, the dust of the day removed, leaving a creamy me.

And this, finally, was the finest comfort of the sacred day: that when I went to bed that night, I slipped my silver self between clean sheets. Sheets sun-dried and wind-softened and smoother to my tender flesh than four white petals of the dogwood tree. Delicious above me and below, blessing me and holding me at once: my mother’s cleanliness. Such a sweet fastness of sheets declared the boy between them to be royalty for sure, chosen, holy, and beloved – the son of a wonderful queen [p.29].

Is this not why we read? What a delight to the soul! What are you reading for pleasure, as well as for instruction?

Published in: on March 29, 2017 at 11:30 AM  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cjts3rs.wordpress.com/2017/03/29/reading-with-delight-two-examples/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

