PRC Archives: 1948 Young People’s Convention – Holland, MI

This year, the 77th annual PRC Young People’s Convention will be held. The First PRC of Holland, MI will again be hosting it.

Theme banner

The first time this congregation hosted it was in 1948, with events held at the church, at Holland Christian High School, Kollen Park, and Tunnel Park – all familiar spots in the Holland area, though buildings and grounds may have changed.

1948-YPsConv-Holland

Today for our PRC archives feature, we post these pages from that 8th annual PR Young People’s Convention Booklet, held August 18-19, 1948. Enjoy!

1948-YPs-Conv-Holland_0001

1948-YPs-Conv-Holland-3

1948-YPs-Conv-Holland_0004

1948-YPs-Conv-Holland_0006

1948-YPs-Conv-Holland_0005And a parting note from the world’s largest furnace installer!

1948-YPs-Conv-Holland_0007

 

Published in: on May 18, 2017 at 3:57 PM  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cjts3rs.wordpress.com/2017/05/18/prc-archives-1948-young-peoples-convention-holland-mi/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My Grandpa Gysbert Van Baren was on the Federation Board. Top row right.

    Like

    • Thanks for pointing that out, Dawn. Your mom told her unique story here too, as you will see. I love it when people leave these comments. It helps identify people and adds to the history.

      Like

  2. I am perhaps the youngest person living who attended the 1948 convention. My father, Gys Van Baren, was the president of the Fed Board. He and my mother were married in 1947 and I was born in May of 1948. So I attended the convention with my father and mother. My Uncle Perk Schut was just telling me a few weeks ago that he remembers me being there. I would have been 3 months old. 🙂
    Beth Van Uffelen

    Like

    • That is amazing, Beth! Thanks for sharing that story. I never would have known.

      Like


Leave a Reply

