Three New Titles in the “Theologians on the Christian Life” Series | Crossway

Crossway Publishers has recently released three more titles in its popular “Theologians on the Christian Life” series. They are:

Charles Spurgeon, widely hailed as the “Prince of Preachers,” is well known for his powerful preaching, gifted mind, and compelling personality. Over the course of nearly four decades at London’s famous New Park Street Chapel and Metropolitan Tabernacle, Spurgeon preached and penned words that continue to resonate with God’s people today.

Organized around the main beliefs that undergirded his ministry—the centrality of Christ, the importance of the new birth, the indwelling of the Spirit, and the necessity of the Bible—this introduction to Spurgeon’s life and thought will challenge readers to live their lives for the glory of God.

Table of Contents:

Series Preface
Part 1: Charles Spurgeon
1. A Man Full of Life
Part 2: Christ the Center
2. Christ and the Bible
3. Puritanism, Calvinism, and Christ
4. Christ and Preaching
Part 3: The New Birth
5. New Birth and Baptism
6. Human Sin and God’s Grace
7. The Cross and New Birth
Part 4: The New Life
8. The Holy Spirit and Sanctification
9. Prayer
10. The Pilgrim Army
11. Suffering and Depression
12. Final Glory

Martyn Lloyd-Jones, commonly referred to as “the Doctor,” had a successful career in medicine before abandoning it all to become a preacher in London. His sermons—displaying the life-changing power of biblical truth—diagnosed the spiritual condition of his congregation and prescribed the gospel remedy.

This study of Lloyd-Jones’s life will encourage and exhort readers to consider the role of the knowledge of God, the power of the Spirit, and the fullness of Christ in their daily lives, allowing them to discover the inseparable union of doctrine and the Christian life.

Table of Contents:

Series Preface
Foreword by Sinclair B. Ferguson
Introduction: The Thesis
Part 1 “The Doctor”

  1. The Life and Times of Martyn Lloyd-Jones

Part 2 The Doctor’s Doctrine

  1. God the Father Almighty: The Person and Work of the Father
  2. Christ and Him Crucified: The Person and Work of Christ
  3. Power from on High: The Person and Work of the Holy Spirit
  4. Redemption Applied: Justification and Sanctification
  5. The Church: The Body of Christ and the Bride of Christ
  6. The Last Things: Death and “the Glory”

Part 3 The Christian Life

  1. The Word
  2. Prayer
  3. Faith Working through Love
  4. Life in the Spirit at Home and Work
  5. Why Are You So Downcast? Spiritual Depression
  6. The Acid Test: The Hope of Glory

Part 4 The Doctor’s Legacy

  1. The Legacy of Martyn Lloyd-Jones

Appendix 1: The Charismatic Controversy
Appendix 2: The Secession Controversy

C. S. Lewis excelled at plumbing the depths of the human heart, both the good and the bad, the beautiful and the corrupt. From science fiction and fantasy to essays, letters, and works of apologetics, Lewis has offered a wealth of insight into how to live the Christian life.

In this book, Rigney explores the center of Lewis’s vision for the Christian life—the personal encounter between the human self and the living God. In prayer, in the church, in the imagination, in our natural loves, in our pleasures and our sorrows, God brings us into his presence so that we can become fully human: alive, free, and whole, transformed into the image of Jesus Christ.

Table of Contents:

Series Preface

  1. The Choice: The Unavoidable Either–Or
  2. The Gospel: God Came Down
  3. Theology: A Map to Ultimate Reality
  4. The Gospel Applied: Good Infection and Good Pretending
  5. The Devil: The Proud and Bent Spirit
  6. The Church: Worshiping with Christ’s Body
  7. Prayer: Practicing the Presence of God
  8. A Grand Mystery: Divine Providence and Human Freedom
  9. Pride and Humility: Enjoying and Contemplating Ourselves
  10. Christian Hedonics: Beams of Glory and the Quest for Joy
  11. Reason and Imagination: Truth, Meaning, and the Life of Faith
  12. Healthy Introspection: The Precarious Path to Self-Knowledge
  13. The Natural Loves: Affection, Friendship, and Eros
  14. Divine Love: Putting the Natural Loves in Their Place
  15. Hell: The Outer Darkness
  16. Heaven: Further Up and Further In
  17. Orual’s Choice: Discovering Her True Face

Lewis Works Cited

While some of the books in this series are better than others (Don’t forget there are titles on Augustine, Luther, Calvin, and Bavinck too.), all are thought-provoking glimpses of the way in which a variety of Christian theologians have viewed the life of the child of God in this world. They make for stimulating and profitable reading.

Source: Books |