O God Our Help In Ages Past

As we begin the new year, what song is more fitting than the great hymn of Isaac Watts inspired by Psalm 90, sung by the Choir of King’s College, Cambridge. May this be our theme throughout the year 2011. Stay with the video; it begins simply with piano and then builds to a crescendo at the end. Beautiful pictures accompany this clip.

YouTube – O God Our Help In Ages Past.

Published in: on January 1, 2011 at 1:58 PM  Leave a Comment  

Prayer for the New Year

New Year – Valley of Vision

“O LORD,
Length of days does not profit me except the days are passed
in thy presence, in thy service, to thy glory.
Give me a grace that precedes, follows, guides, sustains,
sanctifies, aids every hour,
that I may not be one moment apart from thee,
but may rely on thy Spirit
to supply every thought,
speak in every word,
direct every step,
prosper every work,
build up every mote of faith,
and give me a desire
to show forth thy praise,
testify thy love,
advance thy kingdom.
I launch my bark on the unknown waters of this year,
with thee, O Father, as my harbour,
thee, O Son, at my helm,
thee, O Holy Spirit, filling my sails.
Guide me to heaven with my loins girt,
my lamp burning,
my ear open to thy calls,
my heart full of love,
my soul free.
Give me thy grace to sanctify me,
thy comforts to cheer,
thy wisdom to teach,
thy right hand to guide,
thy counsel to instruct,
thy law to judge,
thy presence to stabilize.
May thy fear be my awe,
thy triumphs my joy.”
Taken from “The Valley of Vision – A Collection of Puritan Prayers and Devotions”
Edited by Arthur Bennett

New Year, New Look, Same Blog

Good morning and Blessed New Year to you! Yes, you are seeing change on this blog as we begin the year of our Lord 2011! I decided to go with a different theme this year, something clean, simple, and easier on the eyes (one needs that after 50, you know!). We do lose the beautiful scene at the top of the blog, but we can perhaps tweek that at some point this year and add our own picture. The content remains the same, although, naturally, we will have new posts in 2011, and we will be adding new links, etc. along the way too. And, of course, the blogger remains the same. Well, for the most part. But I hereby resolve to bring you the best books, news, history, quotes, music, and links that I can find – all to encourage you to see our only righteousness in Christ, to be (or maybe even become) Reformed, and to read good books. Yes, our purpose is the same! So, with God as our help and hope, onward we press, through WordPress, to pursue the 3R’s! CJT

Published in: on January 1, 2011 at 1:12 PM  Leave a Comment